Wow, I cannot believe how long I have NOT been back here. Motherhood surely ate up my free time to ponder and write. It was already hard with one kid, and now with two little monkeys in the house, and running my own home-based business … I definitely, truly, neglected this blog.

Although, it’s funny how life always brings me back to these “checkpoints”. This afternoon, I was at the computer typing relentlessly away at my work website, trying to publish a new blog post, when my 8-year-old daughter (yes, she is now 8!) came beside me and asked what I was doing. I explained to her I was writing a blog post, and then she asked what is a blog. The conversation then developed into an educational demonstration on what a blog, website, and web address is and then it went into an “aha!” moment.

“Did you know mom has a personal blog?”

Naturally, my hands just typed in the blog address, and there it was in full view for my daughter to see. I could not remember what I last wrote about, nor did I remember how it looked like. I used to enjoy picking out the themed designs and changing them every now and then. Then, I remembered I had wrote a pregnancy journal on this blog. When I started that journal, I had intended to capture every emotion, doubt, and event that occurs during the journey of carrying a life inside me for the very first time. Now, this baby is born. She can now read. And that was what she spent the next few minutes doing.

I left her to it as my son needed my attention. After 10 minutes or so, she came down excitedly, while calling out to me,

“Mommy, I LOVED reading your love letters to me!”

And she gave me the warmest hug. Sometimes, it seems no one is paying attention at all. I say to myself, at the end, it is all worth it.

A new chapter begins as I my daughter is excited to be co-author of this blog! What shall we write next? We are thinking of sharing our how life is like in Northern Alberta – child and mom perspective. This would be great for anyone interested in migrating to Canada and also travelers (if any, now that we live in Covid-world). I also need to catch up writing in the travel section; adding the many past adventures we’ve had. Please let us know in the comments – we’d love to hear from you!

Cheers,

jjme & minime

Fall Season in Obrien Provincial Park, Alberta, Canada

Leave a comment