Self-Weaned

This past week was a little stressful. The haze which has blanketed Malaysian skies is not doing anyone any good. Emma wakes up with a runny and congested nose every morning now. I don’t know if she is developing sinus allergies or it is the adverse effects of the haze pollution. Moreover, she has been waking up twice in the middle of the night asking for milk. I have come to realize she is wanting to suckle on the milk bottle for comfort. She depends on it to go to sleep. I was at a lost. I am constantly being deprived of a good night’s rest, and it is taking a toll on me especially with a bun cooking in the oven too. I don’t think Emma gets good rest either.

So I made a big decision. A difficult one but bold. It is time to wean her off the milk bottle at 27 months old. I explained firmly to her, that I am throwing away all the milk bottles because she doesn’t want to drink her milk anymore. She is a big girl now, and she will drink milk from a cup. She said OK. When night time came, she asked for her milk. Crying for it when she realized it is not available anymore. I placed a water straw-bottle for her on the bed and told if she is thirsty, she can take it and drink water herself. The first night, as expected, was hard. I know it is hard for her. So I did my best to comfort her. Yes, she was angry. She pushed me away a few times. When she was calm, I approached her and rocked her for comfort. Eventually she was too tired, and fell asleep. In the morning, she woke up smiling at me, and told me, “No more bottle. Drink milk from cup only. OK?”

The second night, she slept from 9.00 AM to 8.30 AM. That’s 11 hours of uninterrupted sleep. She did wake up twice to drink water by herself, but she was able to go back to sleep on her own. I’m sure this heavenly sleep pattern won’t last forever, but to me it was Hallelujah! We all wake up fresh and well-rested in the morning now. There is a downside though. She doesn’t want to drink her milk in a cup. I’ve tried fresh milk and she drinks a little bit. So I have to compensate her calcium intake with cheese and yogurt. She is a picky eater, and till today I wonder if it’s because she didn’t breastfeed long enough. I look at other children and they love to eat healthy pancakes with cheese and egg, or homemade banana smoothies for breakfast. Sigh. That’s another challenge now – getting her to eat more during meal time.

It doesn’t end, does it?

Leave a Reply

