Don’t Grow Up So Fast

Finally, I got some time to sit down and BLOG. The past six months have been crazy hectic. I am starting to lose count of how many times we travel on a jetplane each month. For now, I feel like just sitting on a couch with my feet up, munching on some crackers and good ol’ cheese, and sipping on a glass of red wine. My little ladybug has been quite the workout too. She is running around a lot (yes, bumping into things quite a bit), and testing her vocal chords by experimenting with screaming, and climbing onto furniture or whatever she can step on … phew. The list goes on.

But she has also become so adorable and sweet. I love it when she just runs with her whole heart and crashes into me with giggles. Her warm hugs are tiny but memorable. She is repeating after what everyone is saying now, which means to say her vocabulary is growing … fast. She is grooving to Bruno Mars “Uptown Funk” with her cute dance acts by bouncing up and down on her knees, swinging left to right and trying to step to the beat. She is very observant of the world and its surroundings. I admire the way she figures things out and how her curiosity draws her to learn new things every day.

Tonight, I looked into her eyes while she was drinking her milk, and whispered to her, “Don’t grow up so fast.” It’s true that I’m exhausted by the end of each day and look forward to some alone time, but at the same time, I’m already missing her. Missing these little moments she gives me every day. One day, she won’t be so little anymore, and she won’t need to hold my hand or play with her anymore.

I’m trying. I’m trying my best to be a good mother while she is still little. Sometimes I get so carried away with dreaming about what I want and what I miss in my life that I forget, she is my little miracle. And they don’t always happen when you want them to.

Leave a Reply

