I Made it Through!

And … it is official! I’ve made it through the first year of mummyhood. Emma turned one year old last week. It is amazing how we have all come this far! Now, my little girl is walking lots, babbling random vowels, screaming and shouting (I think she learns it from the other kids she sees at the mall). She is already running away from me when I raise my voice when she misbehaves.

We celebrated her birthday with my in-laws in Brunei. Unfortunately, it was Ramadan period, where the law forbids any public function/events to be celebrated in the day. You can’t even eat at the restaurant. All food must be taken away, and brought home to your residence (or hide in a corner where nobody can see you eat). It was disappointing. We originally had planned for her birthday party at the hotel function room. In the end, we had to change our plans and squeeze 60 over people into my in-laws house. I had fun decorating the balloons though. It was the least I could do for my daughter’s big day. I am not sure if I am one of those moms who would spend a fortune on my child’s birthday party. What I do know that it is important to have a photographer there, where at least one proper family photo is sure to be taken! Can’t have the mistake of no family photos from Emma’s full moon celebration repeated again …

Our trip to Brunei ended in misery though due to the airport closure when we were suppoze to travel to Kota Kinabalu. It was so frustrating, and tiring. Luckily, my baby girl handled it well. I was worried I had to deal with a screaming, overtired child when I myself had little patience and energy at the end of it all. Long story short, I still could not fathom why the airport did not use close, accurate communication with the airlines. Never mind our flight was delayed the first day and we were placed in a hotel to rest. But to be woken up at 2:30 AM for an update that there will be a bus to pick us up to the airport at 5:30 AM for a 7:30 AM flight out … only to find out that the airport is still going to be closed for the day … makes me so … angry. We cancelled our flights and drove back to Miri to catch the next flight back to Kuala Lumpur. So our holiday in Kota Kinabalu was cancelled.

Sigh.

First ever of such a travel experience. I guess I shouldn’t be complaining much since people are much off worse than me in the MH17 tragedy. My heart goes out to the families of their loved ones who perished in the incident. It is so sad that I cannot bear to read anymore news about it.

Anyhow, Emma is growing up so fast. But she still has tiny feet, and tiny hands, and I’m going to miss all of that when she grows up. Her tight hugs when she is scared and need comfort. Her cheeky smile when I tell her something funny. Her loving sleepy gaze when she looks at me in the morning. I am truly blessed. I hope I will continue to stay strong for whatever lies ahead. There’s more parenting to be done!

Leave a Reply

