Tandoori Ribs

Recipe for roasting Tandoori baby back ribs

Tandoori Ribs

When I was visiting my sister in Toronto a couple of weeks ago, I had the pleasure of having dinner in her friend’s home. The hostess cooked up a delicious dinner, and one particular dish that still lingers in my mind is the Tandoori ribs. It was unusual, but so yummy! One should try this recipe if Indian spice flavors is a favourite.

I’ve tried to cook ribs in the past, but they never turn out tender. It could just be my personal preference, but I find BBQ sauces on ribs too common and messy to eat. The Tandoori ribs are less messy because it is quite a dry marinade, and in my opinion more flavorful. This time, I made sure I asked the hostess on some tips for roasting ribs in the oven. She did not reveal the whole recipe in detail, but knowing it is Tandoori flavor, it wasn’t hard to figure out a marinade for the ribs. Yesterday, I tried this recipe with baby back ribs. When I was done cooking, I was so caught up in eating it that I forgot to take a photo of the dish. Fortunately, I have a photo of the Tandoori ribs that I ate in Toronto to share!

Ingredients (Serving for Two):

A full rack of baby back ribs

3 Tbsp of Olive Oil

2 Tbsp of Tandoori paste

2 tsp of dried Basil seasoning

Salt and Pepper to taste

2 tsp of Cayenne pepper (optional)

Instructions:

1. Perforate/Tenderize the ribs.

2. Slice the full rack of ribs in half. Use a large Ziploc bag and place one half of the ribs inside. Add in 1 Tbsp Tandoori paste, 1 tsp Basil, 1 tsp Olive Oil, Salt and Pepper (and Cayenne pepper if needed). Close up the bag, and thoroughly rub the marinade into the ribs. Repeat for the other half in another Ziploc bag. Refrigerate the ribs for at least 4-6 hours.

3. Preheat oven to 320F. Line a deep baking pan with 1 tsp Olive Oil. Place the ribs in pan, cover completely with aluminum foil (pierce a couple of holes with a fork to allow ventilation) and bake in oven for 1 hour.

4. After 1 hour, remove aluminum foil from pan. Place pan back in oven and crank the temperature to max – 500F and broil for a couple of minutes. Then, remove pan and let cool. You can keep it warm using foil until it is ready to serve.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

