Black Sheep and Lame Ducks

I am sad that Borders bookstore is closing their business. It is the last few days of its closing sale, and people are taking advantage of the 60-80% discounts on what’s remaining at the store. I cannot help but join in the battle to search for good deals on books. As much as I’m sad to see Borders close, I’m happy that I can get $25 books for only $7. Sometimes, I do feel that books are overpriced, but that is because I am a consumer. I am sure authors are treated with fair respect for their talent and effort in publishing their work.

I walked in to the store to see it in quite a mess. As I browsed through the shelves, I found this intriguing book “Black Sheep and Lame Ducks: The origins & even more phrases we use every day.” Here I was, browsing through the pages with a grin across my face. I decided this was going to be a purchase, and the fiance will be quite amused by it too (considering the fact that he does not like to read books). Simple, light, and useful information. I wonder, why did I not learn this in school? It would have been fun to know their origins, and of course help with memorizing and applying them in speech too. The best part – it was only $3.00 after an 80% discount.

Phrases such as “dressed up to the nines”, “sleep on a clothesline”, and even “gung-ho” are all explained in this little, smart book. Who would have thought “dressed up to the nines” was related to purity of fine metals, or “sleep on a clothesline” came from a historical lifestyle in the mid-nineteenth century? I say its thumbs-up and rate it 4 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

