I Feel Like A Puffa Fish

This was my first time going under general anesthetic for a surgery. And the worst thing I could think about was dying in the middle of the surgery … not the pain I would feel after removing all my wisdom teeth. What is the probability something could go wrong during the anesthetic? No idea.

Steve was scaring me with the pain and the swelling that may go on for days. The operators tell me to take Tylenol-3, which apparently is a narcotic drug. I had to hear all kinds of stories from other people before experiencing it on my own. When the anesthetician came to talk to me before the surgery, I thought he was a fake. First of all, he looked freaky like those psychotic doctors that we see in the movies. Second, his jokes were dry. I didn’t really find it funny, but I was giggling because I was nervous.

And seriously, I think both he and the nurse were trying too hard to calm me down when I was on the operating table. Can you imagine trying to answer two different questions at the same time? I wonder why they kept asking me questions … at the same time too. At one point, I answered to the wrong person, and it was embarassing because the anesthetician repeated his question like twice. It was the weirdest thing ever. I told them straight in the face that I can’t keep up with answering two questions at the same time. Sheesh. Well, the needle hurt. And when he told me I was going to feel sleepy soon, it happened real soon. I slept like a baby. Next thing I knew, I was waking up in a different room. It felt like the surgery was completed in a blink of an eye. It wasn’t the best feeling ever because I felt thirsty, and had a terrible headache. I couldn’t walk straight. Got helped into the car, went home, and crashed on the bed.

Phew. I survived it! And now I feel like a puffa fish. I hope the swelling and pain heals fast.

Leave a Reply

