The Wedding Dress

This is my silly attempt at writing a story. Well, let me know what you think (hehe).

I feel far from dizzy today. The soft yellow sun rests lightly on my face as I pulled the blinds up. It is too wonderful of a day to be indoors. In ten minutes, Jamie will enter the room with the sweetest smile on her face. Honestly, I have never seen a single sulk or pout from her. She still pulls through with a positive attitude even in the busiest hours. In ten minutes, she will begin to pour all her rants or perhaps funny incidents from yesterday’s shift. In ten minutes, she will give me my last shot …

Today I will walk away with no beads of hope. I promised myself that I will not shed a tear. This very place has provided me with the least amount of comfort, but somehow it filled my world with awe. I have witness strength from mothers who have failed childbirth, glowing mischief from children who have bald heads and sunken eye-bags, and much unprecedented love from family members.

“Thank you,” I said to Jamie as she placed a band aid on my arm.

“Will you be alright?” she asked with slight tears welling up in her eyes.

“I’ll be just fine. And you will too.”

Suddenly, there was a knock on the door. Mom entered the room with William. I could tell she was trying to hold back her tears. Her smile is so sincere yet insecure. Finally, the time has come for me to leave this place.

“Where’s dad?” I asked.

“He’s doing the paperwork. He’ll meet us at the front. Come along now, it’s a beautiful day outside. William suggested that we should head to the park.”

At the front entrance, I saw Dad walking towards us while searching for something in the pockets on his coat. He almost ran into an old lady on a wheelchair.

“Hi honey,” he hugged and kissed me on my forehead.

“Ready to go? Here, I got you your favourite candy.”

I nodded with a smile. Dad still smells of wine. He must have been drinking a lot lately, especially after the news broke out. He should not be driving us to the park. The sun blinded my eyes for a little while, but I was happy to see what was in front of me – Dad’s same old Honda Civic. There was a slight argument as to who should drive but in the end I told Dad that I wanted William to drive. It was a tricky situation. I could sense that everyone was tensed. So was I.

For a while now, I thought I had lost touch with this world. Everything that occurred within these two years revolved around those brightly-lit hallways and ridiculously high beds. It was almost foreign to me when I smelt the fishy water of the fountain in the park. Mom was holding my hand as we walked when suddenly she let out a small cry. Apparently, I had looked a little pale and this caused an unnecessary panic mode for everyone. Even though I was feeling a little tired, I explained politely that I just needed time to adjust to this new atmosphere. There was a moment of silence after that until Dad muttered something completely out of line. It was something about him having chicken for dinner yesterday which tasted like alligator meat. I thought it was random but funny, and so I laughed. After which, everyone followed suit.

“We should head back soon, you need to rest,” Mom said.

“I have had all the rest I needed these past two years. I want to walk around some more,” I uttered while trying to show I was not tired.

As we approached the government building, we saw a group of people getting ready for a photo shoot. What I saw froze me in my tracks. It was as though I had a sudden flashback, but only this time it was a reminder.

“What’s wrong? Is she someone you know from college?”

“Mom, I really want to wear a wedding dress.”

Three months had passed by. It is 8 o’clock at night but I am feeling unusually weak. I said good night to Mom and Dad, and brought a cup of warm chamomile tea up to the bedroom. As I sat on the bed, I turned to my bedside table to grab my diary. I held the pen and flipped to a blank page when suddenly I realized there was nothing left to write in my life. I took another glance at the photo that I kept at the back end of the book. I could not remember how long I was staring at that photo, but soon I felt that I needed to have a good night’s rest. I crept under the warm sheets, and placed my diary beside me as I dozed off into the night.

“All she wanted was a normal life. Why did God have to take this away from my angel?”

As my wife cried in sorrow, I held my daughter’s cold hand in mine and brought it to my lips to kiss it one last time. At the corner of my eye, I noticed a little pink book with a photo bookmarked inside of it. I took it from under the sheets, and opened it to the page that was bookmarked. There she was … beautiful and smiling so sweetly in the photo with William hugging her from behind. But her eyes were telling me a different story. Her eyes showed pain and sadness. And just as I was about to close the book and put everything out o f my sight … I saw the words.

“Thank you … Mom … Dad … for letting me wear this wedding dress. I am sorry for not being able to fulfill your wish to see me through my happier days. Dad, I’m sorry I couldn’t wait till the day I can walk down the aisle with you. I love you both … very much.”

Leave a Reply

