Yesterday was a day only a superwoman can live through …

Work at day from 7.30 a.m. till 4.30 p.m. and school at night (AMA Driver Education).

I only arrived home from work at 5.20 p.m.. I had to stop by the supermarket on the way as I forgot all about the potluck lunch for a colleague’s farewell. Someone gave me a hint to bring salad as a dish, and so I had to buy two bags of instant salad … rushed home to cook instant noodle for dinner, and hop on the bus at 6 p.m. to class. Only a meager 45 minutes of “rest” after a long day at work. As my humble driver is not in town this week, I had to take a cab home after class at 9.30 p.m..  Needless to say, I disregarded the waiting time for a cab to be about 15-20 minutes because I naively assumed that it is a small town and that it won’t be busy at 9.30 p.m.. I was a pitiful soul, shivering out in the cold while waiting for the cab. Damn, it already feels like it is October! My instructor was kind enough to wait with me until the cab arrived. It was already 10.15 p.m. by the time I got home. I had to eat supper because apparently instant noodle didn’t keep my stomach as full. Then, I had to take a shower … and prepare the salad for the next day.

Okay, you should know by now that I am ranting too much about my ordeal. Let’s just cut the story short to “I finally got the chance to lay in bed to sleep at 12 a.m.”

Not a very good sleep, my stomach was having those annoying gastric pains throughout the night. At 6.15 a.m., my alarm rang and I felt so horrible that I could not even muster enough energy to get out of bed. Therefore, I decided not to go to work today and get some proper rest because I have night school again tomorrow …

Tough life, huh? Especially without a CAR!!! That’s why I love living life in the city. A city like Singapore … you can get anywhere using the transit system. Efficient and reliable. Small towns are for retirement and family living. That’s why I am bored of this town. Life is never fair, right? I have a good paying job but living in a relatively inconvenient and boring town. I guess I cannot ask for too much. Anyway, my third attempt at the driving test is occurring next Friday. And it’s going to be the basic test … not the advanced test anymore …

At least, I get to do laundry today. I plan to do some studying too. My mentor was mentioning that it’s good to have me around because the basic engineering theories are fresh in my mind (as I just got out of school) …

That’s putting pressure on me already. I seriously do not think that I remember half of what I learnt in school. Like I said, I’m not a true patriot of engineering. It’s something that I do for a living. It pays the bills, and my vanity. So a little bit of studying I have to do while I attempt to relieve this gaseous-like stomach of mine.

One thought on “Back to Basics

Leave a comment