Pineapple Tarts

Gosh. Baking is a lot of work … and you would think it’s just popping it into the oven and that’s it! Gee …there’s so much effort into making the fine little details look nice …

Well, I don’t know how I finally mustered up the courage to bake a dessert … perhaps, it was from reminiscing my childhood memories, and how sweet and crumbly those pineapple tarts (黄梨酥) would melt in my mouth. It is a very popular snack where I grew up in Malaysia, especially during the festive Chinese New Year season. After reading a recipe on RasaMalaysia.com, I decided to give it a try myself. At first, I tried to make the criss-cross pattern over the filling, but that proved to be very time-consuming, and I was afraid everything was going to melt before I started baking it, so I just left it plain. Plain round tarts, with the pineapple jam on top. Oh-so-yummy!

Leave a Reply

